Customization trend, custom-made shoes

Recently, I was doing some trending (my own slang for trends). I’ve been selling accessories and providing men’s wardrobe consultation a little under a year now, and I go on buying trips four times a year. Trending is what I do to figure out what my customers would love to add to their wardrobes for the coming season.

As a trend, I think individual customization will become huge within the next few years as regular folks continue on the differentiation quest of their personal style. We will see it in shoes (see below)  and increasingly more and more with custom tailored outfits. It will become easier to access as retailers learn new ways to put custom services on the web.

I’m a big believer in accessories paving the everyday fabulosity of any outfit. Customization will just further those unlimited options.  This option is one I can’t wait to try. Totally custom sandals. Too fab! You can do all this on Morgan Miller’s website:

  1. Choose your own heel height, material and color
  2. Choose your own leather and leather color
  3. Choose your own shoe accessory

Morgan Miller has made it possible online. If you are in her area and able to go to her store, wait times are about a half hour for your brand new, brand you, thoroughly customized shoes. Affordability is relative, so I won’t post an average price here. Although the website doesn’t state what the wait time is for online deliveries, I imagine it won’t be more than two days.

Steve Madden also offers customization but their shoes are stock. You aren’t building your own shoe from the sole up. I couldn’t find any online, custom made options for men’s dress shoes, but did see Nike, Vans, and Timberland offering customization of stock shoes and boots.

Do you know of any customizable shoe options?

7 Comments

Filed under men, shoes, women

7 responses to “Customization trend, custom-made shoes

  1. Kirsten

    Puma also offers shoe customization online.

  2. Hey – whats up. Thanks a bunch for the blog. I’ve been digging around looking some info up for shool, but i think i’m getting lost!. Google lead me here – good for you i guess! Keep up the great information. I will be popping back over in a few days to see if there is updated posts.

  3. I love this custom trend. There’s this tres exlcusive store in london on the kings road. they do custom shoes, belts etc. Some things are expensive but they are made to the highest quality. A footballer mentioned them in was article I remember seeing a while ago. Amazing stuff.

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « styleosophy

  5. James

    if you are looking for custom made shoes check out http://www.adlershoes.com – had 3 pairs made and they are great – they send you a foot casting set that is easy to use and works – the most important part is that their shoes even though they are hand made, cost far less than anywhere else

Leave a Reply

